Skip to main content
University of Bath

Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering academic staff

We oversee and deliver teaching and research activities in the Department.

Our duties include:

  • teaching on our undergraduate and taught postgraduate courses
  • developing and delivering research expertise across our portfolio
  • building collaborative networks across educational and industrial sectors
  • supervision of postgraduate students

Head of Department

Professor Andrew Heath, Head of Department/Professor in Civil Engineering/Director of Centre for Infrastructure, Geotechnics and Water Engineering (IGWE)

Academic and teaching staff

    • Dr Kemi Adeyeye, Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer, Department Ethics Officer
    • Dr Dima Albadra, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Stephen Allen, Senior Lecturer in Energy and Environmental Engineering
    • Dr Richard Ball, Reader/Year 2 Civil Engineering tutor
    • Jayne Barlow, Lecturer in Architecture/Professional Studies Advisor
    • Nigel Bedford, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Chris Blenkinsopp, Senior Lecturer in Water Engineering, Departmental Director of Recruitment, Access & Admissions for Civil Engineering
    • Dr Kevin Briggs, Senior Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering/Placements Tutor/Site Visit Coordinator
    • Dr Lee Bryant, Senior Lecturer in Water Engineering/Civil Engineering Study Abroad Coordinator
    • Scott Cahill, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Juliana Calabria-Holley, Lecturer in Architecture/Chair of Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity Team (EDIT)
    • Dr Valeria Cascione, Lecturer in Civil Engineering
    • Anne Claxton, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Professor Peter Clegg, Professor of Architecture
    • Dr Ricardo Codinhoto, Senior Lecturer in Architecture, Director of Teaching for UG and PGT/Faculty Director of PGT Programmes
    • Professor David Coley, Professor of Zero Carbon Design/Director of Energy and the Design of Environments (EDEn)/Director of the Building Research Park
    • Dr Alex Copping, Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)/Construction Project Management
    • Dr Antony Darby, Reader in Structural Engineering
    • Professor Stephen Emmitt, Professor of Architectural Practice/Interim Director of Studies for RIBA Part 3
    • Dr Mark Evernden, Senior Lecturer in Structures/Year 1 Tutor in Civil Engineering
    • Ms Ann-Marie Fallon, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Veronica Ferrandiz-Mas, Lecturer in Innovative Construction Materials/Civil Engineering Laboratory Liaison Coordinator
    • Sarah Gibson, Lecturer in Architecture/Director of Studies for PG (Cert Part 3)
    • Simon Gould, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Rob Gregory, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Mr John Griffiths, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Robert Grover, Senior Lecturer in Architecture/Year 3 BSc Design Studio Coordinator/Director of Studies for BSc Architecture
    • Professor Marion Harney, Professor of Building and Landscape conservation, Associate Dean Education, Faculty of Engineering and Design/University Athena SWAN Lead, Vice Chancellor's Office
    • Mr Matthew Harrison, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Will Hawkins, Lecturer in Structural Engineering Design
    • Dr Mohammad Heidarzadeh, Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering/Director of Recruitment, Access & Admissions for MSc Programmes
    • Jo Hibbert, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Mr Andy Jarvis, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Julia Kashdan-Brown, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Xinyuan Ke, Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Sustainable Materials for Construction/ACE Research Seminar Coordinator
    • Dr Tristan Kershaw, Lecturer in Climate Resilience/Director of Postgraduate Research
    • Dr Thomas Kjeldsen, Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering
    • Gavin Knowles, Lecturer in Civil Engineering/Year 3 Civil Engineering Tutor
    • Toby Lewis, Lecturer in Architecture/Year 5 MArch Design Studio Coordinator
    • Dr Stephen Lo, Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Environmental Engineering
    • Mr George Lovesmith, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Hugo Marrack, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Ms Catherine Martin, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Mr John Martin, Part-time Teaching Fellow/2nd Year Studio Tutor/Lecturer
    • Dr Daniel Maskell, Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering/Director of Studies for Civil Engineering Undergraduate Courses
    • Dr Nick McCullen, Senior Lecturer in Low-Carbon Design/Director of Studies for MSc Conservation of Historic Buildings, MSc Modern Building Design, MSc Environmental Design, MSc Innovative Structural Materials, MSc Civil Engineering
    • Dr Gerrit Meijer, Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering/Exams Officers
    • Rob Mitchell, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Prof Sukumar Natarajan, Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) in Environmental Design/MArch Part 2 Admissions Tutor
    • Mr Tim Osborn, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Professor Kevin Paine, Professor of Infrastructure Materials/Director of Research/Deputy Director of BRE Centre for Innovative Construction Materials (CICM)/Director of the Centre for Climate Change Adaptation
    • Dr Loizos Pelecanos, Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering
    • Dr Robert Proctor, Senior Lecturer in Architectural History and Theory
    • Dr Cormac Reale, Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering/Year 4 Tutor for Civil Engineering
    • Tim Rolt, Lecturer in Architecture/Year 1 BSc Design Studio Coordinator
    • Dr Erfan Shahabpoor, Lecturer in Civil Engineering (Assistant Professor) in Human-Structure Dynamics
    • Dr Andrew Shea, Senior Lecturer in Building Physics/Year 1 Civil Engineering Tutor
    • Dr Paul Shepherd, Reader in Computational Design/Outreach and Widening Participation Representative
    • Dr Jonathan Slade, Technical Manager for the Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering and the Department of Mechanical Engineering
    • Dr Victoria Stephenson, Lecturer/Seminars Coordinator
    • Dominic Taylor, Lecturer in Architecture/Semester 1 Year 2 BSc Design Studio Coordinator
    • Professor Pete Walker, Professor of Innovative Construction Materials/Director of BRE Centre for Innovative Construction Materials (CICM)
    • Dr Jie Wang, Lecturer in Structural Engineering Design/Civil Engineering UG Lab Coordinator
    • Vanessa Warnes, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Mark Watkins, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Dr Aoife Wiberg, Senior Lecturer in Architecture
    • Matthew Wickens, Senior Lecturer in Architecture/Year 4 BSc Design Studio Coordinator/Director of Studies MArch (Part 2)
    • Mark Wilson Jones, Senior Lecturer in Architecture
    • Daniel Wong, Senior Lecturer in Architecture/Departmental Director of Recruitment, Access & Admissions for BSc Architecture/3rd and 4th Year Design Tutor
    • Mark Wray, Lecturer in Architecture
    • Professor Alex Wright, Professor of Architecture/Head of Architecture/Year 6 MArch Design Studio Coordinator
    • Professor Jun Zang, Professor of Coastal and Ocean Engineering/Deputy Director of Centre for Infrastructure, Geotechnics and Water Engineering (IGWE)/Deputy Head of Department

Visiting staff