Skip to main content

Graduate Research Scholarships

Graduate Research Scholarships are available for new management students at the University. Check if you're eligible for this award.

If you are applying for doctoral study in Management, Computer Science and Maths, you may be eligible for a Graduate Research Scholarship.

Studentship value

Find out how much funding is available.

You could receive funding for up to four years. This includes:

  • Home tuition fees
  • maintenance stipend of £17,668 each year (2022/23 rate)
  • training support fund of £1,000 a year1

Eligibility criteria

Find out if you are eligible for this award.

Funding eligibility

Home students can apply for this award.

In determining Home student status, we follow the UK government’s fee regulations and guidance from the UK Council for International Student Affairs (UKCISA).

You can find further information within our fee status guidance.

If you are an overseas applicant, you may be considered for an award if you are able to provide evidence of your ability to fund the difference between Home and Overseas tuition fees.

Academic eligibility

To be eligible for this award you should have a strong academic background and an exceptional scholarly vocation, including the desire and ability to support teaching in the broad subject area of your PhD.

For full details on eligibility, see the Graduate Research Scholarship terms and conditions for the School of Management or the Graduate Research Scholarship terms and conditions for the Faculty of Science.

Application deadlines

Find out when you should submit your application.

Application deadline

Applications for entry in the 2023/24 academic year are now closed.

Contact us

If you have any questions about doctoral funding, get in touch.

  1. The training support fund varies depending on the programme: for Management programmes, the training support fund is awarded in years 2, 3 and 4; for Maths and Computer Science programmes the training support fund is given for each year of the award.